The Presidential Building is close to Taipei Main Station and Ximending. The building was built during Japanese colonization period. It was the governor’s mansion at that time. During the ending period of World War II, the building was seriously damaged due to bombing. After Taiwan was reclaimed by R.O.C., the building was re-constructed in 1946. The building was re-named as “Jieshou Building” in celebration of the 60th birthday of former president Mr. Chiang Kai-shek. The building has been used as the presidential mansion after the central government of R.O.C. was re-instated in Taiwan.
The main body of the Presidential Office Building is a five-floor structure and the central tower is eleven-floor high. The area is 6,930 square meters. The outer portion is covered with steel concrete. Gravel is used as decoration horizontally. A sense of grandeur and vigorousness is presented via the red-white composition. The Presidential Building was announced by the President as “national historical site” in 1998 and was open for public tour since then. The general public will be able to see in person the location where the president works. The distance between the President and his people will be shortened.